• +91-7205641803 / +91-7077641802
  • support@homeseva.online
The Significance Of Navratri Puja

The Significance Of Navratri Puja

The Navaratri festival honors the Hindu goddess Durga, representing purity and power (or Shakti), and is celebrated for nine nights. There are four times a year when the festival is held. This includes the Navaratris in the months of Magh, Chaitra/Vasant, Ashada, and Shardiya. Devotees celebrate the nine incarnations of Maa Durga throughout the nine nights. These are Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalratri, Maha Gauri, and Siddhidatri. Having a puja at this time is highly recommended. For this ritual, you can do online poojari booking.

Keep reading to find out more information about Navaratri.

The Story Of Navaratri

The Hindu festival of Navratri celebrates Durga’s triumph over the Demon Mahishasura. According to legend, the demon Mahishasura was immortalized by the creator god Brahma for his undying devotion. He made a condition for this gift: only a woman could defeat him. Since Mahishasura knew that no woman could ever kill him, he thought the bargain was fair.

Over time, Mahishasura and his army became a daunting obstacle for the people of Earth, and no god could stop them. When the Hindu trinity of Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva witnessed Mahishasura’s brutality, they joined forces to create the all-powerful Goddess Durga.

For ten days, the Demon and the Goddess Durga fought, with the Demon constantly changing his shape to confound the Goddess. By the end of the story, the monster had turned into a buffalo, and Goddess Durga defeated him.

What Happens During Navaratri

The Navaratri festival lasts for a full nine days. People honor all nine forms of the goddess Durga during this time, celebrating Durga Pooja.

Day 1:

Goddess Shailputri, daughter of the Himalayan Raja, is honored for her enlightenment.

Day 2:

Goddess Brahmacharini, Devi Parvati’s unmarried form, is worshipped. This day is for meditation.

Day 3:

Goddess Chandraghanta—the moon and the bell—is honored today. Devotees focus on the divine and disregard caprice.

Day 4:

People worship Devi Kushmanda, the goddess of creative creation.

Day 5:

This day honors the goddess Skandamata. Worship on this day brings luck, wealth, wisdom, affluence, health, and power.

If you wish to do puja at home, you can do online poojari booking.

Day 6:

Katyayani, the warrior Goddess who destroys all evil in the universe, is revered today.

Day 7:

The furious avatar of Devi, known as Goddess Kaalratri, is revered by her followers.

Day 8:

Devotees pray to Devi Mahagauri on this Navaratri day to gain freedom and set motion in their lives.

Day 9:

On this day, devotees honor Devi Siddhidatri, whose name means “perfection.” People worship on this day so that they can do what seems impossible.

Day 10:

Vijaya Dashmani, the tenth day of Navaratri, is celebrated by performing a havan and submerging an idol in water. Those needing pujaris for rituals can get one via online pandit booking Bhubaneswar.


Navaratri is a major Hindu festival dedicated to the worship of Durga. These days are ideal to perform good deeds. During Navratri, if you want to perform puja at home, you can easily do so by online poojari booking.

Homeseva offers convenient and complete puja services. From puja samagris to pandits, we have everything you need for a prosperous puja. To learn more about what we can do for you, visit our website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *